Social Media

The real challenge of social media is creating growth of present and future opportunities. Social media takes too much time away from the real world. Some people care more about there online/social life than their friends and family in their real life. With social media creating all these apps and products, people are becoming more and more sucked into their social life.

One of the most common social media site is Facebook. People spend over 500 billion minutes per month on Facebook. More than 25 billion pieces of content (web links, news stories, blog posts, notes, photo albums, ect.) is shared each month. More than 100 million active users currently accessing Facebook are doing it through their mobile devices. People that access Facebook via mobile device are moe active than non-mobile device users.

Another common site in the world of social media would be Twitter. Twitter gets more than 300,000 new users each day. There are currently more than 200 million users on Twitter. Over 60% of Twitter users are outside the U.S. More than one third of Twitter users access the app or website via their mobile device.

What social media sites are you involved in?

4 thoughts on “Social Media”

  1. What interesting statistics–wow.

    I don’t use Facebook very much. I started an account because I missed my sister, who lives in Utah. I wanted to hear the daily ups and downs, ins and outs of her and her kids’ lives.

    I use Twitter every day for teacher work. The best education and English class articles, opinions, and ideas can be found via twitter hashtags like #edchat and #elachat.

  2. I agree that social media takes away from our social lives and lives with families. I have a Facebook, though I don’t go on it. I also have a twitter, but I only occasionally go on it. The social networks I mainly use are Instagram and Tumblr. I really love how you hooked me into this post! There are some amazing statistics you included in the post as well.

  3. I feel sad of what this world has come today with social media. I feel like no one listens to each other anymore.

    The social media I use is only Instagram.

  4. I have to agree saying that people have become so consumed within their social life that it begins to overpower reality. I do have many social media accounts like facebook, twitter, instagram, ask.fm, vine, snapchat, and wattpad, though I spend almost all my time on wattpad reading online books. Social media in a very debatable topic because there are so many good things that come out of it but on the other hand there are so many bad things too.
    I really like the topic of your blog and the angle you decided to look at it with. I also like that you included facts, and stats but I believe you could further evaluate the idea of how it takes people away from the real life. Overall, good post though.
    My class also has our own blog so go check it out! The link is: http://kidblog.org/78Lakers/ Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *