Who I Am…

I come from traveling and waiting at baggage claim

From mom’s house to dad’s house

I am from “Where am I going to be for Christmas?”

From “Is it Dad’s weekend or Mom’s?”

I am from movies & TV shows with Mom

From Glee, Brooklyn Nine-Nine, and New Girl

I am from Mom’s house to Dad’s condo

The smell of fresh cooked dinner every night

I am from the banana tree in my Grandma’s front yard in Hawaii

The nearby palm trees whose long limbs I remember as if they were my own

I am from holiday cookie parties

From always getting a new nut-cracker every Christmas

I’m from “Front and center” and “How was your day?”

And from “Don’t be scared because fear causes hesitation, and hesitation causes your worst fear to come true”

I am from laughter to inside jokes with friends

I am from Disney movies, Disney land, Disney world, and DISNEY

I am from Austin and Germany

From country style dinners to salmon green tea soup

I am from family to school to sports to my second family, also known as my friends

And thats me…    

Country Style Pork Ribs

4 thoughts on “Who I Am…”

  1. I love your Disney line, especially the way you just burst out DISNEY at the end! My older daughter has a Disney passion and knowledge like you wouldn’t believe. I understand your feeling!

  2. Disney and Christmas cookies are also my favorites. Haha. As well as my family is German as can be. I love your writing and this is such a creative and truthful poem. It’s great.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *